Yesterday morning, after I dropped off my grandson at work, and before I went back home again, I stopped at the big food store (Maxi) to do some shopping. One of the things I bought, was a bunch of bananas. At home, again, I unpacked the bags, had breakfast and then went back to bed for a while.

After two whiles I thought: How expensive that was! What did I buy that made it so costly?

I checked the purchase against the sales ticket, everything added up without any flaws, but… WHERE WERE THE BANANAS!

I was looking for them everywhere! On the kitchen bench where they should be; on the table; lifted and moved around other things, but no bananas.

I looked in the room, in the bathroom – I started to get a bit freaked out now, I knew I had bought a bunch, remembered I had put them in one of the bags…

Went out to the car to look there. They might have fallen out of the bag without me noticing it. But no bananas in the car.

Back in the apartment, I looked all over once more. I even looked in the freezer, though I knew I couldn’t have done THAT! Looked once again in the fridge, in the room, on the floor…

No bananas.

Then I phoned the shop. No, there were no forgotten bananas! And then I gave up. I must have forgotten them nevertheless, and another costumer must have taken them.

A couple of hours passed by. Eventually it was time for lunch and then I should drive back to the neighbour-city to pick my grandson up and get him home again. And to make lunch, I had to open the cupboard…

Why on earth did I put the bananas there? I never store bananas in the cupboard! What was I thinking? Am I going nuts?

And why didn’t I look there when I was on the banana-hunt? I did check out the freezer…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

15 thoughts on “Have I gone bananas?

    1. I claim to nothing of the sort – I’ve been absent minded many times during my entire life. But never before put the bananas instead of the muscovado sugar into the cupboard. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are now closed.