Doing some reading

Even though I don’t write particularly much at present time, and this blog – that’s about it when it comes to writing, nothing more even worth mentioning – I read more now than I did before my move back home. And that’s awesome! I have always been a reading person, from the age of five when my father didn’t want to read to me any more. He said his throat hurt too much so I had to read myself from that moment on…

He smiled when saying it, but I took it seriously and started to embrace my favorite books without hesitating even a second. After all, I had been sitting in his lap following the words as he read them, so it wasn’t too difficult for me. And when I started to read other stories, and other books, and came upon a word I couldn’t read, he asked me to spell the letters to him, and then he said the word.

And soon I read anything and everything. Including texts on the cartons containing milk, cereals and other food. For years and years I read all the time and everywhere. Including on the toilet. Mamma got quite irritated more than once since I always had my eyes in a book or in some kind of magazine.

And when I started school and there was this library! Oh! I was in heaven!

Daddy always supported me and my reading, and during the years to come, he used to borrow book from the main City Library for me. And not only typical children’s books. Most of them I’ve forgotten now, but I do remember Cheaper by the Dozen by Frank B. Gilbreth, Jr. and Ernestine Gilbreth Carey which was published in 1948. They were son and daughter to:

Frank Bunker Gilbreth, Sr. (July 7, 1868 – June 14, 1924) was an early advocate of scientific management and a pioneer of time and motion study, and is perhaps best known as the father and central figure of Cheaper by the Dozen. Both he and his wife Lillian Moller Gilbreth were industrial engineers and efficiency experts who contributed to the study of industrial engineering in fields such as motion study and human factors.

I remember I loved that book, it was really funny, and I must have read it at least a couple of times.

As an adult I found it once somewhere, probably on my usual library, but that was a long time ago now. Would actually love to get my hands on it again and just read and enjoy and laugh.

Another book I remember from that time was one (or more than one?) written by Sven Hedin. There I read about his travels in Asia, especially I remember his travel through the Gobi Desert.

Yes! Already then I had the taste for adventures, which stretched far away out in the universe. Travels among the stars and the galaxies. WOW! That’s still one of my favourite genres. Though now I watch Star Trek and similar movies and series. Of course I’ve seen Star Wars, Dune – both the movie from 1984 and the mini serie from 2000. Both based on the eponymous novel by Frank Herbert. Sorry to say, I havn’t read that one. But I’m still alive and kickin’ and if I’m lucky I’ll find it on iBooks.

And this wasn’t at all what I was going to write about in this post. But I’m writing, and that’s really really good.

P.S. The current book I’m reading is The Jar Bell by Sylvia Plath. Found it as pocket at a second hand shop. And it’s not the first time I’m reading it. Fifth?

I have an idea of filling my book shelf with classical books I like. So iBooks isn’t the only place I find my reading moments. Though it’s very practical to have a library on the iPad (and the iMac and the MacBookPro, and the iPhone…)

And so… round and round it goes as years pass by, day by day…

Daily prompt: weel

 

Categories: Books, Reading

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

