Beautiful as a fairy’s butt. With white snow that had been falling during the night, and the sun shining from a clear blue sky. And I stayed indoors the entire day.

You see, the temperature rose to just above zero, and with the help of warm sunbeams the snow started to melt. But it was still cold so soon the biking- and walking lanes became covered with a slippery mess of snow, water and ice. Nothing for me to walk on. Nor bike. I was hoping all snow and ice would disappear during the day.

img_2457

This evening I was supposed to visit my daughter, M. I intended to bike there. I always bike my way around. But about 6.30 PM she texted me: “It’s icy”. I texted her back and said I had been thinking about that, and would go out for a short test-walk.

The test-walk, with the bike, revealed it was icy spots on the lane. Some big, some minor. But if it would only be like this all the way, it might be okay to go along. I couldn’t take that for granted, though.

I texted: “There are spots. Let’s meet another day. Safer that way.”

Then I went along, with the bike, to the nearby grocery store. Bought myself a couple of things I needed, and a couple of things I shouldn’t have, and went home again. Another way. A slightly longer way. And soon, very soon, I realised I was very very happy I had the bike with me to lean on.

But came eventually home safe and sound. And saw a couple of kids dancing on the ice-spots like fairies.

You don’t do that kind of things after you’ve reached a certain age. Though I can’t say what that age is…

