Icy cold, and beautiful

IMG_5934

Of course I’ve made something to this photo! Who do you think I am? I just can’t let it be, can I? O_o

This monday was a cold day. While I was having breakfast the thermometer showed -13,4 C (below zero). On Sunday the temperature had been dropping and late that evening snow started to fall. And kept on falling during the entire night.

At lunch it was stunningly beautiful! I went for a walk and it wasn’t as cold as in the morning any longer. And the temperature was slowly rising! (Well… can’t say it became warm though…) And I had to be really careful to where and how I put my feet.

Why?
Well! Melting soft snow and hard ice on the streets, become a dangerously messy and slippery mix. It doesn’t help much to strew sand on the sidewalks and biking paths. There are always spots that are pure ice. And on the streets it’s even worse. The friction heat that creates when cars at street corners pull in and then speed up again, makes crossing a street to an almost life threatening task.

But the next morning most of the snow and ice were gone! And it was raining…
So typically at this part of the country where I live! By the west-coast seaside. Changes! Changes! Can’t be boring, eey?
(It can)

IMG_5934-1200px

The original – just smaller >:D!

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TRIO

Categories: Photo, The city, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Icy cold, and beautiful

  1. Love the enhanced version Ninna!

    Like

  2. Well done – looks really great. And I loved that Monday…

    Like

    • Thanks, Leya!
      Yeah! Me too! Except the morning. I don’t know how many layers I had on while biking downtown. More than I put on the photo… hehe…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We had 30 degrees celsius yesterday and the same is expected today – total extremes at the moment.
    Stunning photo

    Like

    • Thank you, Raewyn! It seems like many things around the world are getting more and more extreme. Not only the weather.
      -10 C isn’t extreme per se in the winter here. But it’s too early! Still only november

      Like

  4. When I lived in Austria I used to have some spikes which I put over my shoes – helped a lot. Snow is definitely overrated

    Like

    • We can buy those spikes here as well. I guess I’ll have to do that soon.
      Snow can beautiful – in the right place, in the right time. 🙂

      Like

  5. great image – the water is so still the reflection is captured perfectly

    Like

Blog at WordPress.com.

