… to open a can of sardines…

sardines

… and while the sardines was in the colander, they were a bit too oily you know, I tried to put the lid back into the can.  Guess I shouldn’t have done the latter

fingertopp

I’ve none so ever competitive qualities,  but it gives me really some kind of Victory feelings that I managed to:

  • put the finger under pouring cold water for a short while…
  • find a band-aid AND manage to strap it on…
  • find an old kitchen towel, and cut off a piece  I could use as bandage…
  • manage to hold the bleeding finger tight with the other fingers on that hand – lika a knot into the palm… those fingers got numb after a while…
  • remember to turn off the stove plate where I’m boiling small cut pieces of turnip and carrots. They are waiting for the potato, which is peeled but yet not cut in pieces…
  • to put on boots, cardigan & jacket
  • to bike the 2 km to my doctor…
  • I even remember to bring a banana and som walnuts… in case it will take long time before I get home again. I was after all preparing lunch!

The nurse examined the still bleeding finger, asked one of the doctors if it perhaps needed to be sewn, but they decided to put surgeon tape on, and upon that some pressure.

AND SHE REALLY DID PUT THOSE SMALL TAPES ON!
Loads of them!
And all the other stuff!

Now I can’t do the dishes, clean the bathroom, clean the radiators
– or anything else where water is needed! 😀

Unfortunately I can’t take a shower or wash my hair either, for at least a couple of days.
But who cares! Nothing really bad happened!

Weekly Photo Challenge: Victory

How awkward!
I – the most uncompetitive person in the world, find something like this to fit into the aspect of Victory…. How about that! Anything goes, it seems!

28 thoughts on “All I did was….

  1. Owee! These accidents just happen in a flash, Ninna. I grated my little finger on the cheese grater last night, but fortunately it was only a small nick. 🙂 Hope yours heals fast.

    Like

    1. Oh yes! They really do!
      Oh gosh! That must have hurt! I’ve also been in too close encounters with cheese graters. That hurt but was very small injuries. Hardly not even skin deep.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! But I don’t know if there is any tuna or sardines that isn’t canned in that way. (Of course there are fresh and frozen, but canned is so practical to have at home. And isn’t expensive!
      And YES! I’m really happy it didn’t came out worse. After all – a finger tip is only a finger tip! But it can bleed….

      Like

  2. I don’t know about where you are, but there exist little finger “condoms” (that’s what they look like, sorry) that would make it possible for you to take a shower but all that other stuff is far too dangerous 😉

    Like

    1. Oh! I think I’ve seen those somewhere sometimes! Not in my real life though. Probably on telly or Internet somewhere.

      But I’ll cope somehow. The first days are the most “dangerous” ones, and I guess in about a week or so it’s more or less healed. Not that sensitive any longer.
      And the nurse gave me a couple of latex gloves, but also told me to be careful not to let water come in from above. (Above?)
      At least I now can concentrate om my posters and the 12 pages leaflet.
      My mind have been filled with both my moving out from here – with cleaning and all – and the graphic design I have to do. Deadline next Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Usch då. Tur att du höll dig så sansad 🙂 Själv är jag otroligt dålig på det här med sår och när ngt liknande hände mig fick jag ringa hem maken från jobbet för omplåstring då han konstaterade att såret nog behövde sys (!) och det blev en promenad till närmsta vc för detta 🙂 Håller tummarna för snabb läkning!

    Like

    1. Jag fattar knappt själv att en sida av mig var så “kall” eller analytisk eller vad jag ska kalla det. Kom till och med ihåg att stänga av spisplattan!!! Visserligen var jag inte direkt hysterisk, men ändå!

      Like

  4. Tur i oturen. Det passar här. Otäckt när sånt händer, så snabbt, men det kunde ha blivit värre. Skönt att du nu är omplåstrad och förmanad. God läkning!

    Like

    1. Sånt kan hända ögonblickligen, helt klart! Hur många gånger har man inte klämt ihop en konservburk utan att man skurit sig! Men sardinburkar är nog de knepigaste att både öppna helt samt återsluta . Och makrill m.fl

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Fortare än man kan blinka!
      Det är säkerligen redan på gång att läka. Vågar bara inte titta efter ännu…
      Ska ringa sköterskan i morgon så får hon byta bandag och titta efter.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Hej hjärtat!
            Jag har plåster fortfarande, men mest för att skydda. Jag vet inte om jag skar in/ vid/ i/ vid sidan av nageln, men det gör fortfarande ont där om jag stöter i. Men det är läkt annars. Ser bara lite löjligt ut.
            Och nu är jag trött – men på plats i nya lägenheten – men lite städning kvar i den gamla. Badrummet… blää…

            Like

Comments are now closed.