Relic as in nostalgic?

Cafe-a-3

… or maybe as in futuristic?

Cafe-b-3

… or step back a little and just mix it together! Let the old stay alive in a more modern fashion.
Use the old church not only as a church, but also as a cafeteria, an art gallery, for conserts and other happenings.
Make it into a community where you can meet friends. Find peace. Find some meaning with … whatever!
In short – a place to belong, Through times.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic

Categories: At the coffeshop, iPhoneografy, Picture-esque, Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Relic as in nostalgic?

  1. Nice photos. Thank you for the pingback! 🙂

    Like

  2. Fast egentligen tog jag bilderna häromdagen… hehe…

    Like

  3. What a great idea. The way religion is going world wide I would love to see these beautiful buildings utilized in other ways.

    Like

    • And it still serves as a church! First of all, I would say! But adapted to being more! Not stuck in the 1880 or something!

      Like

      • Here in the NL, every single Village has a gorgeous monumental church, some are just amazing and yes they are used on Sundays and the bells toll in a wonderful way. In the US, churches are closing and being sold as homes and to businesses…sad to many.

        Like

        • Yes I agree! Churches, whether you believe in God or not, is a part of the cultural inheritance. For better or for worse.
          I thought US was very religious! Sometimes you can get that impression from movies, teveprograms etc.
          In a way US is “young” while Europe is “old”. Maybe that has to do with it? I know what you write about from Germany, Switzerland and Austria. Old big church buildings and always open. Life kind of circulates around them. Literally and figuratively speaking.

          Like

          • I know and although I am not religious, I am drawn to the community aspect. No, in the US much religion, especially in the urban cities is fading away. Middle America is still centered more around religion I think….

            Like

          • I’m afraid it’s going that way here as well in a way – and on the other hand the Christianity seems to grow! I’ve heard.
            Oh! I don’t know!
            I have a relation with God, but most religion I don’t agree with. So much have been used for other than God-like purposes. Wars for example.
            But it’s good if good communities can grow and prosper.
            And I don’t like the “we are right and you are wrong”.

            Like

          • Yes many are zealots and that alienates me even more. That said, there are many that need something to “follow” to feel secure. I respect this.

            Like

          • This could have been a long interesting discussion about belief and religion, don’t you think? 😉
            But not here on the internet. Sorry!

            Like

          • Agreed off of Word Press. You have my email addy ❤️

            Like

          • Looking forward to that! 🙂

            Like

  4. Härligt när något får flera syften! Fler kyrksalar borde utnyttjas till det då de ofta har potential m sina stora luftiga rum . (Finns en fin kyrka här i Gbg som också fungerar som öppen förskola, konferenslokal, till julbord mm som mitt förra jobb brukade utnyttja…)

    Like

    • Det blir ju så mycket mer levande när man kan komma in i en kyrka i stort sett när som helst på dygnet. Att det alltid finns något!

      Like

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

